what to do?

Guest Shield

Guest Shield

Hi. I'm new to this message board but not to the BC3k saga (though I am a bit behind, obviously.)

I purchased the game from Electronic Boutique back in 1998. I tried fooling with it for a while straight out of the box. When I went on the WWW for tech support, I became immersed in Battlecruiser: The Soap Opera!

After a several 1.x patches (I believe that 1.09 was the last one), I got it working ok.

The reality of having to finish my thesis

before age 40 started to set in, so back in the box the game went for about a year and a half.

Now, with my thesis done and some time on my hands, I decided to go back and revisit my tempermental starship simulation game. After an hour or so online, I found that I was apparently the proud owner of an orphaned game!

My question is, what do I need to download to make my copy work now? I've seemed to have formatted all of my version 1.x patches into oblivion. Can I still download those original patches, or am I wasting my

time? Is there a patch to upgrade to version 2.0? Can I get a CD of the working 1.0 version mailed to me?

I've read through the FAQ's, but I'm still a little confused about what the "latest" version is. Most of the chatter on the boards seems to be about a version 2.x.

Believe me, I'm not trying to make trouble or start a flame war or anything, I just want to play what promises to be the greatest space sim of all time...but it has to be playABLE.

P.S. Now, my old version 1.0 won't work AT ALL. Here are my system specs:

Intel PII 400 MHz

Trident 3D Image 9750 PCI/AGP 4MB

SB compatible PCI sound

256MB RAM

quote:

My question is, what do I need to download to make my copy work now?

You might be able to get up to 1.08 if you can find some old files on servers. I wouldn't recommend it though. 2.0x is so much more. 1.x was trashed/abandoned/improved in favor of 2.x. (total history snipped but available)