Call Of Duty 4 -Modern Warfare

Supreme Cmdr

If you don't already own this game, BUY IT. If you have a choice (i.e. beefy PC vs console), get the PC version.

I started playing it over the holidays and I'm just speechless at the level of quality and polish that Infinity Ward put into this game. Its games like this and Bioshock that pave the way.

As I play this game, it just asserts what myself and many others have said before: Halo 3 is just a rehash that sold based on hype & marketing alone. It simply cannot touch CoD4 in any way, shape or form. Yes, different games sure, but I'm talking in terms of hype, marketing and sales. It would be interesting to see how well it does in the long run. EVERY fps fan needs to buy this game.

Playing this game at 1920x1080 (on my 42" Westinghouse) with everything on high and my 5.1 audio (I have my X-Fi audio piped in DTS to my Onkyo TXSR603X reciever using the Creative Labs Home Theater Connect DTS-610) is just plain awesome. Yesterday I was so engrossed in the game that well into the night I was still playing. After I got yelled at (around 9pm) to keep the volume down, I wipped out my Razer Barracuda headphones and continued for about a half hour before swapping those for my Pioneer SE-DIR800C 5.1 headphones. I was up until 2am thereafter.

I still hold that this was a better candidate for Game of the Year in any awards thingy than Bioshock, Crysis, etc. The multiplayer is addicting; I traded sleep for CoD4 for about a week after its release. I was kind of disappointed at how quickly I got up to level 55 in multiplayer though.

I have yet to try multiplayer because I don't want to get addicted to it. Can you tell me a bit more about the mp experience? I've heard nothing but good things about it.

The multiplayer is fast, fun, frenetic and extremely addictive. Especially when you get to the higher levels...it's one of those MP experiences that never feels tagged on.