Marketing to game minorities

Supreme Cmdr

You can read the special feature over here

Now you see why I didn't want to participate? I told you that it was very likely that (a) they wouldn't like what

I had to say (B) its just another editorialized print job by "consultants" who think that they know more about

the industry that we who are actually in it. My guess is that my references to third party controversial games

such as GTA, not to mention the proliferation of ludicrously violent games would have attracted the ire of the

mainstream publishers. While I'm not a proponent of censorship or govt. interventions, this is EXACTLY why this

frigging industry just needs the govt. to come in, regulate (like the FDA, FCC etc) the whole damn thing and

call it a day. Most of these publishers and devs who are just out gunning for shock value and putting us in the spotlight, would be out of a job on day one.

As to the article, they didn't print questions 1,5,7,10,11,13. So, below are my responses in their entirety.

1. WhatÔÇÖs the most common misconception about African Americans when it comes to gaming?

To be honest, I'm not sure that there are in fact any. Like all art forms, gaming is race, color and creed blind. I mean,
    its not like someone is going to be running polls on how many African Americans are buying or playing games. Or
    how hard it is for African Americans to get their games made. Then again, who knows. Given how much money
    we spend on stupid irrelevant and inconsequential stuff, someone (most likely the govt.) has already sponsored such
    polls.

On the other hand, when it comes to the business of entertainment, there is always that unspoken divide that
    comes with the differences in being Black or White. e.g. in Hollywood, there's a lot of noise about what its like to
    be Black in Hollywood, how it affects getting [good] parts, getting movies made etc. Then you have to wonder that