Loading...
Changes Saved.
Error Occurred!

KnowledgeBase

[UCCE 2.0-3.0] Saved Games

===============================================
NOTE: INSTANT ACTION SCENARIOS DO NOT SUPPORT SAVE AND RESTORE
===============================================
QUICK GAME SAVE (CTRL+SHIFT+G)

This does NOT save the game in a manner that allows it to be restored. 

It does an in-line game save of the current game state. It's not saved to disk. It is like a check-point; except that it stays in memory.

It is used for when you are about to do something hairy (or utterly stupid) without compromising a pre-existing saved game or the current game state.

If you want to save this state to disk, you MUST already have a pre-existing game (saved using the method below) for this option to work. If not, RESUME will NOT work and you will be presented with the full save game screen if you try to use that without having a pre-existing saved game.

FULL GAME SAVE (ALT+G)


This does a FULL game save. It allows you to use RESUME as well as RESTORE. It also allows you to have up to 10 saved games per character profile.

Things to try if you want to better understand how this works.

TEST #1

  • Delete (or save them somewhere) all games in the .\save folder
  • Start the game, select Roam, enter your name and craft name, launch
  • Select COMMAND/SYSTEMS -> QUICK GAME SAVE
  • At the main menu, press RESUME.
  • You will be taken to the start new game screen because NO previous saved game profile exists.
  • Quit the game and look in .\save and you won't see any files there. Which is why there was nothing to resume or restore.


TEST #2

  • Delete (or save them somewhere) all games in the .\save folder
  • Start the game, select Roam, enter your name and craft name, launch
  • Select COMMAND/SYSTEMS -> FULL GAME SAVE
  • Select a saved game slot, enter a name etc
  • At the main menu, press RESUME.
  • You will be taken back into the game where you left off
  • Do something or wait about 2 mins so some changes are written to the game memory.
  • Select COMMAND/SYSTEMS -> QUICK SAVE GAME
  • Back at the main menu, select RESUME and you will be at that same spot.
  • Now ALT+Q to quit the game entirely and all the way to the OS
  • Restart the game and you will find that RESUME or RESTORE will both work and take you to two DIFFERENT parts of the game as per the saves.



Related Articles